Main content of the website

  • font sizeA
  • A
  • A

Voting Information



Head of Council 

(1 Head of Council to be elected at large)


Clayton Canart

Sandy Heaman

Vince Heaman


Ward 1

(2 Councillors to be elected)


Valerie Caldwell 

Darren Good

Diana MacDonald

Rodney Pearn


Ward 2


(3 Councillors to be elected)

Adam Bajus

Mark Humphries

Rea Kinnaird

Greg Penner

Barb Stambuski 


Ward 3

(1 Councillor to be elected)


Denis Lachapelle


Elkhorn LUD

(2 Committee Members to be elected)

Riley Brennand

Kevin Tutthill


Kenton LUD 

(2 Committee members to be elected)

Robert Good

Dennis Hemrica

Robert Lake


Voters did you know ….. 


The voters list is open for revision until September 18.  If you are new to the municipality, have moved within the municipality or have turned or will turn 18 by Election Day, you should check with the Senior Election Official (SEO) to ensure your name is on the voters list for a seamless voting experience on Election Day. 


To be eligible to vote, a person must be a Canadian citizen, at least 18 years of age on Election Day and have been a resident or owned property within the municipality for a least six months on Election Day. 


Voters are required to vote within the ward in which they reside or own property to protect the integrity of the voting process, assist in assigning staff and supplies and make end of day reporting as simple and efficient as possible.  As only election officials, voters, candidates and scrutineers can be present inside a voting location, efforts are made to establish places that will not conflict with other daily operations. 


Voting places have been arranged as follows: 


Ward 1 (East of Road 150W) and Kenton LUD - Kenton Community Hall - 219 Cornwall Street  Ward 2 (West of Road 150W) - Sacred Heart Church - 471 Queen Street West, Virden             

Ward 3 and Elkhorn LUD - Elkhorn Royal Canadian Legion - 4 Richhill Avenue West                  


If voting on Election Day at the above locations will be difficult, advance voting will take place in the below locations from 8:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. as follows: 


October 10, 2018                 Kenton Municipal Office, 220 Cornwall Street  

October 16, 2018                 Elkhorn Royal Canadian Legion, 4 Richhill Avenue West

October 18, 2018                 Virden - Main Municipal Office, 154023 PR 257


Still not convenient, contact the SEO to find out about sealed envelope voting, where a ballot package can be mailed to you, or you can attend the Main Municipal Office during regular business hours from September 26 to October 21 to cast your ballot.

Click Here For an Application for Sealed Envelope


Mobile Polls will be conducted at Elkwood Manor (14 Antrim Street, Elkhorn) on October 24th at 9:30 a.m.