Main content of the website

  • font sizeA
  • A
  • A

Fire Protection

Wallace District Fire Department
R.M. of Wallace-Woodworth/Virden 


The Wallace District Fire Department (WDFD) consists of two fire stations situated in The Town of Virden and The Village of Elkhorn. Station 1 in Virden employs 24 paid on call firefighters and Station 2 in Elkhorn employs 13 firefighters.

The Fire Department is under the leadership of Fire Chief Tyson Van Eaton.

WDFD protects the citizens and property of the RM of Wallace-Woodworth, including Elkhorn and Kola, Town of Virden, portions of the RM of Pipestone. WDFD belongs to the Oak Lake Mutual Aid District which provides assistance to several surrounding fire departments.

The Wallace District Fire Department was formed in 1977 and is governed by the Wallace District Fire Board.

WDFD provides fire and rescue services including response to all types of fires, vehicle extrication, water rescue, rope rescue, ground search, and response to incidents involving hazardous materials. Training is ongoing and provided by in house instructors and the Manitoba Emergency Services College. Station 1 members meet every Thursday at 7:00 pm and Station 2 members meet every Monday at 7:00 pm.

Members of WDFD are very involved in community functions and fund raising for new equipment. WDFD also has a Fire Inspection program where all commercial buildings are inspected annually. Fire prevention is also an important aspect of the day to day operations of the fire department with fire station tours, school visits and fire extinguisher training.

For more information, how to become a firefighter with WDFD, if you are looking for fire prevention information or want to schedule a fire hall tour or visit please contact Fire Chief Tyson Van Eaton at (204) 748-1304 or by cell at (204) 851-0767. Email

Keeping our community safe  

Station 1 Virden Ph. 748-1304
Station 2 Elkhorn ph. 845-2046 (Not monitored)